Letting go of old points of view helps to get over post-traumatic stress and recover from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

When I look back at my recovery from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, I can say with certainty that recovery from CFS has mainly been about releasing unwholesome points of view and embracing new and healthy ones. The letting go of old points of view has also meant real changes in how I see life and how I live it. I used to be stuck in negative emotions like anger and resentment. I used to hold very negative and fearful ideas about life, other people, and everything else. I used to think and feel that I was worthless, and I used to think that I will not make it to old age. All of these feelings and beliefs combined (and more) made up Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. These feelings and beliefs had started to accumulate from a young age and were only released in the process of overcoming CFS many years later. I had had no possibility of dealing with painful events that happened to me as a little boy, and as the stress from those events (and new ones) kept accumulating, it became too much to bear for my body at the age of fourteen. This was the time that I started to have the symptoms of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome – extreme fatigue, depression, irritability and so on. I had no clue at the time that these symptoms were signals from my Bodymind to do something about the remnants of the traumas I had gone through. When I found out about Reverse Therapy many years later, it all made perfect sense to me. I immediately started to pay attention to what I was really feeling and releasing as many heavy feelings I could. A major breakthrough came quite soon. It came about when I really paid attention to all of my symptoms and expressed them in a way that felt just right (see previous post: Chronic Fatigue Syndrome teaches us being true to ourselves and more).

The healing journey meant letting go of many stuck points of view and embracing new ones. It also meant healing many negative emotions and developing positive ones instead. Overcoming chronic fatigue syndrome is about being aware of emotions and sensations and doing energy healing work to release all of your unhealthy points of view and anything else that is not supportive of good health.

The idea that changing points of view helps to make major shifts in our health condition is also central to my favorite healing technique TAT. The inventor of TAT, Ms. Tapas Fleming explains it:

“The central idea is that when we’re very stressed or traumatized we become identified with thoughts and beliefs that seem like they’re going to help us make it through. After the trauma has passed, we’re still living our lives stuck in those points of view and it doesn’t work – we can’t relax and be happy. For example, a real typical point of view that gets born during a trauma that’s extreme enough to result in PTSD would be “I have to be on high alert all the time.” Another one would be “I’m not safe.” These stuck beliefs result in not being able to sleep, not being able to connect with people, always sitting with your back to a wall so you can keep an eye on everything, and so on.”

From the website of Heal My PTSD

I was unconsciously holding the belief “I have to be on high alert all the time” throughout my illness and the process of recovery. This was not only a belief, but also a strong feeling in the body that seemed to be telling me “to do something or not to do something.”  I was unable to let it go because it was so deep. It was as if I was on a pressure cooker – something inside me was always pushing me harder and I could never relax. But eventually, after many sessions of TAT, it started to dissipate and show up less frequently… until it was completely gone along with the symptoms of CFS.

Even though we can see we’re not in the original situation, somehow, we don’t “get it”. We keep operating on old information that doesn’t apply anymore. The points we touch at the front and back of our head with the TAT Pose allow us to “get it”.

-Tapas Fleming

I have often been blown away by the power of this simple technique and recommend anyone with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, M.E. or Fibromyalgia to try it. TAT booklet about healing traumas is available for free at www.tatlife.com, but if you would like to learn hot to use TAT for physical illnesses, you can either work with a certified TAT practitioner (the list and contacts are found on the website) or buy training materials at the TATLife store

Have a happy healing journey from CFS to Full Health!